Developing Flavor and Patience

Image

Spinach, Tomato, Tortellini Soup

You know the saying, “a watched pot never boils?” Well, lately I have been in more of the “screw the boiling, I am going to add the pasta while I am waiting for it to boil, and while I am waiting I am also going to do the dishes, laundry, answer emails and post 7 tweets” mentality. Okay, I might be slightly exaggerating, but the point is… my multitasking and impatience have reached new levels and I am here to share why it’s going to stop, now.

While the ability to handle several tasks at one time is the go-to skill for any mom and professional, many studies and some super smart people have proven that multitasking just doesn’t work. It leads to everything being done subpar levels. Paired with impatience, it leads to many tasks being done quickly, and rashly… and this can lead to a spiral of poor decisions.

Every once in awhile life has a funny way of bringing it back around. So today, while home sick and making some soup (yum, true picture—>) I start, to get impatient waiting for the base ingredients to simmer and develop flavor. As I was just about to say screw it, turn up the heat, move forward and clean the dishes at the same time, it hit me… I am home sick, nothing is pressing and this soup could be really good if I just gave it time to develop.

So, now that the soup was settled I was hit with an even larger realization… it’s not just the soup! For the past year, I have been rushing… and haven’t let anything in my life really “develop flavor.” Here I am at home sick, but feeling perhaps the best I have in months (mentally and physically) just because I slept in, relaxed and was engaged in some self-care (self-care = watching the Today show, eating a real breakfast, taking meds).

I know so many people. myself included, that jump into new jobs, bad purchases, and wear themselves so thin with a sense of urgency and perfection, that we never take the time to develop the things in life that need to “simmer” – like, reflection, learning what is the best fit, and taking time to do things well. which includes mental and physical self-care. When did this sense of urgency in work unfold in our personal lives? While I will always be the type of person that loves efficiency, I pledge for the best of myself, my family and those around me, to take time to simmer over decisions and savor the moment instead of jumping into my to-do list every free moment that I gain.

Oh, that soup looks delicious? It was, especially because I let it develop over the day! Here is the recipe, how real people cook:

Olive Oil

Mushrooms (a handful, sliced)

1 Can of Diced Tomatoes

1 Bag of Baby Spinach

16 oz of Veggie Stock

Turkey Sausage (cooked, chopped into bite sized pieces, optional)

Alfredo Sauce

3 Cheese Tortellini

Start by heating olive oil at the bottom of a pan, simmer mushrooms and spinach in olive oil with salt and pepper. Add can of diced tomatoes and let ingredients cook down, stir occasionally. Add Veggie Stock, stir and let simmer for 15 min. or so. Add Turkey Sausage and Alfredo Sauce and stir. If you want to get all of the alfredo sauce out of the jar, just add milk, swirl and pour into the pot. Put on low and let it sit for several hours. Add tortellini about 20 minutes prior to serving. Goes great with French bread. Enjoy – and don’t do anything else while you eat… even have your partner hold the child, if you need to.

 

 

One thought on “Developing Flavor and Patience

  1. Pingback: Cook it Your Way – Easy Breezy Lasagna Roll Ups | Simple Things, Fine Moments

Leave a Reply

